Recipe: Easy Week Night Rotisserie Chicken Salad!

If you’re like me, when you’re at work into the late night, the last thing you want to do is come home and cook. I try to avoid going out to eat during the week (for the sake of my wallet and my waistline), so instead I go to the grocery store to pick up my old stand by…Rotisserie Chicken! At around $7-8 and already pre-cooked, these babies are my go-to. They are great on their own, but I like to use them as the base for a home-cooked meal, and they can make almost any recipe fast and easy.

If you’re looking to mix up your Rotisserie Chicken recipes, here is one for super easy chicken salad. It makes great lunches for the rest of the week (just serve with celery sticks or crackers, or on a sandwich with a slice of provolone cheese), and can be made in 15 minutes or less! Oh, and did I mention there’s a secret ingredient that makes this actually healthier than your usual chicken salad? Spoiler alert…It’s Greek yogurt!


EASY WEEK NIGHT ROTISSERIE CHICKEN SALAD

Ingredients:

  • 1 rotisserie chicken from your local grocery store
  • 2-3 celery stalks
  • 1 5.3 oz container of plain greek yogurt (I use low fat Chobani, but whatever brand you have on hand is good, just make sure it’s plain)
  • 1 cup mayo (I use low-fat Hellmann’s)
  • 1/2 tbsp Pepper
  • 1/2 tbsp Onion Powder
  • 1/2 tbsp Garlic Powder
  • Salt to taste

De-bone the rotisserie chicken. You can do this by splitting the chicken in half, then using your hands (the best kitchen utensils!), pulling the chicken off the bone.

Once all the meat is off the bone, start cutting up the chicken. Cut or shred the chicken up into bite size pieces. You don’t need the bones or the chicken skins for this recipe. I like to give a small piece of chicken skin to my dog, and sometimes my fiance will grab a piece when I’m not looking! haha If you’re feeling extra motivated, you can keep the bones to make a stock later.

Put all of the chicken into a large bowl, and start adding your salad ingredients.

Dice up 2-3 celery stalks into small pieces. Combine with the chicken.

Add the entire container of greek yogurt (it adds a lot of flavor/tang, and it’s secretly good for you and cuts out a little bit of mayo), then add 1/2 of the mayo. I have also tried this recipe using only Greek yogurt…It was good, not great. But if I added pesto or something to the recipe, it masked the sour Greek yogurt taste and no one was the wiser (more to come on how to make this recipe a little more exciting).

Once you start stirring up the salad, you’ll see if it’s too thick. If it is too thick, just add more mayo.

Season the chicken salad, and add salt to taste. Remember, this is a large batch (we’re using a whole chicken, after all!), so you’ll need to add a lot of seasoning. I also like to throw in whatever herbs are growing in my garden at the time. Green onion or dill is especially nice in this.

DONE!

Now, if you want to make it a little more interesting, here are some tips to spice up this recipe…

  • Add chopped walnuts and apples (one of my favorite combos in chicken salad!), or grapes instead of apples – lots of texture and great flavor!
  • Add a pre-made basil pesto for a Mediterranean chicken salad
  • Add yellow curry powder for a curried chicken salad

Enjoy! And remember, recipes are guidelines, not rules, so feel free to tweak this to suit your taste!

One thought on “Recipe: Easy Week Night Rotisserie Chicken Salad!

  1. aboyd85 says:

    This sounds so delicious! I love chicken salad, and making it with Greek Yogurt sounds awesome!

    I know you’re probably busy with the wedding (and all the fun stuff after the wedding is over), but I tagged you in a Q&A post on my blog, if you have some free time, you should check it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

