Why I love my Birkenstocks

I am an old lady trapped in a 27 year old’s body. I go to bed at 10pm, I hate loud bars, and I love my comfy shoes.

Up until about 3 years ago, Birkenstocks were reserved for geriatric retirees and dated hippies. Then all of a sudden, the Olsen twins started wearing them around NYC, and suddenly Birkenstocks are being worn by every fashion blogger, and I LOVE IT.

If you are looking to purchase your own Birkenstocks, these are the things you should know:

  • The most popular styles are the Arizona and the Gizeh. Those are the ones you will see most fashionistas wearing. I have wide feet, and the Arizona basically made it looks like I had double-wide Hobbit feet…Not a good look. But the Gizeh, a modified flip flop essentially, were just as comfortable in my opinion and way more fashionable.

The ones I’m wearing in the below picture with my puppy (he loves them too, by the way) are the oil rubbed black leather Gizehs. You can buy them here for $125.

IMG_7564

  • There are a few different options for the material for your Birkenstocks. They come in leather (patent, oil-rubbed, or regular) or Birko-Flor. Birko-Flor is a vegan leather alternative. I, personally, like the look and feel of the oil-rubbed leather, which is a softened leather with a matte finish. The patent leather Birkenstocks are also very popular, but I tend to stay away from shiny things except for in my jewelry.
  • For sizing, Birkenstocks run a little large. I would recommend going into any shoe store in your mall and trying on a pair to know what size you should get. They come in European sizes, and they also come in narrow or normal. I got the normal, and they fit great.
  • The bed of your Birkenstocks is a cork material that will conform to your feet and make them extra comfy after a little wear. BUT, be aware that you need to break them in….It took me about a month of semi-continuous wear before they were comfortable, and I did get a blister or two in the process. But now they are extremely comfy, and I wear them basically every chance I get, so it was definitely worth it! Arizona Birkenstocks also come in a “Soft Footbed” which is basically a padded cork. I have the plain cork, and they are very comfortable, but some people prefer the padding on the soft footbed. I think that is personal preference.

If you have any questions for me about Birkenstocks or need any help choosing your own, feel free to leave me a comment here. Happy shopping, fellow old ladies!

2 thoughts on “Why I love my Birkenstocks

    • instantlyjessi says:

      They used to, before I broke them in (I got two blisters once on the inside of my foot because Birkenstocks have a very high arch) but now I can wear them all day! I wouldn’t take them hiking or anything, but compared to my other sandals they’re definitely my most comfortable casual shoes

      Like

Leave a Reply

